CIPR | Center For Inter-American Policy & Research

Tulane University

Bertucci and Lowenthal Publish on Scholars, Policymakers, and International Affairs

October 29th, 2014

Scholars, Policymakers, and International Affairs shows how to build mutually beneficial connections between the worlds of ideas and action, analysis and policy. Drawing on contributions from top international scholars with policy experience as well as senior policy-makers, Abraham F. Lowenthal and Mariano E. Bertucci make the case that scholars can both strengthen their research and contribute to improved policies while protecting academia from the risks of active participation in the policy process.

Many scholars believe that policymakers are more interested in processes and outcomes that in understanding causality. Many policymakers believe that scholars are absorbed in abstract and self-referential debates and that they are primarily focused on crafting theories rather than developing solutions to pressing policy issues.

The book’s contributors discuss how these obstacles can be overcome. Case studies illustrate how scholars have helped reduce income inequality, promote democratic governance, and enhance inter-American cooperation. These stories are balanced by studies on why academic analysts have had little positive impact on counternarcotics and citizen security policies. The conclusion identifies best practices and provides concrete recommendations.

Abraham F. Lowenthal is professor emeritus of the University of Southern California, president emeritus of the Pacific Council on International Policy, a nonresident senior fellow of the Brookings Institution, and an adjunct professor at Brown University. He was founding director of both the Inter-American Dialogue and the Woodrow Wilson Center‘€™s Latin American Program. Mariano E. Bertucci is a post-doctoral fellow at the Center for Inter-American Policy and Research, Tulane University.

Other contributors include Chappell Lawson, Robert Pastor, Peter Andreas, Jane Jaquette, Mitchell Seligson, Thomas Biersteker, Kevin Casas-Zamora, Nora Lustig, Blanca Heredia, Rafael Fernández de Castro, Paul Evans, Ambassador Thomas Shannon and Laurence Whitehead.