CIPR | Center For Inter-American Policy & Research

Tulane University


Jump to page:

Hector Bahamonde


Hector Bahamonde joined the Center for Inter-American Policy & Research as a Postdoctoral Fellow in the summer of 2017. After receiving his BA in Political…  read more

Maria Akchurin


Maria Akchurin is a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Center for Inter-American Policy & Research and a sociologist studying institutional politics and social movements relating to social…  read more

Santiago Anria

Former CIPR Post-Doctoral Fellow (2015-2017)

Contact info Santiago Anria received his PhD in political science from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in the spring of 2015.…  read more

Mariano Bertucci

Former CIPR Post-Doctoral Fellow (2014-2016) and Non-Resident Research Fellow

Contact Info Mariano Bertucci completed his PhD in Political Science and International Relations at the University of Southern California. His research interests fit most…  read more

John Eric Brown

Former Student Researcher

John Brown is a PhD candidate in the Department of Sociology in Maynooth University, Ireland. He is a Fulbright Student Awardee. His research focuses on…  read more

Arachu Castro

Senior Associate Research Fellow - Samuel Z. Stone Chair of Public Health in Latin America

Arachu Castro, Ph.D., M.P.H., is Samuel Z. Stone Chair of Public Health in Latin America at Tulane University and Senior Research Affiliate at CIPR. Her…  read more

Christopher Chambers-Ju


Christopher Chambers Ju received his PhD in political science from the University of California, Berkeley in 2017. His research examines the politics of education through…  read more

Ludovico Feoli

Executive Director - Center for Inter-American Policy & Research

Contact Info Follow Ludovico Feoli’s Blogs Ludovico Feoli is the director of the Center for Inter-American Policy and Research (CIPR) and a Research Associate…  read more

Sefira Fialkoff

Assistant Director

Sefira Fialkoff is the assistant director of the Center for Inter-American Policy and Research (CIPR). She has lived and worked abroad in Spain, Costa Rica,…  read more

María Pilar García-Guadilla

Former Visiting CIPR Research Fellow

María Pilar García-Guadilla is a Tenured Full Professor at the Department of Urban Planning and the Graduated Programs of Political Sciences and Sustainable Development, Universidad…  read more

Timothy M. Gill

Former CIPR Post-Doctoral Fellow (2016-2017)

Contact info Timothy M. Gill’s research interests include political sociology, global/transnational sociology, comparative-historical sociology, and sociological theory. In his work, Gill has focused on…  read more

Sean Higgins

Non-Resident Research Fellow

Sean Higgins is a Post-Doctoral Fellow at UC Berkeley’s Center for Effective Global Action. He is also Director of the Commitment to Equity (CEQ) Data…  read more

Matthew Johnson

Former CIPR Post-doctoral Fellow (2012-2013)

Contact Info Matthew Johnson was born and raised in a small town in southern Minnesota. After completing a Bachelor of Science in Business at…  read more

Nora Lustig

Senior Associate Research Fellow - Director of the CEQ Institute (CEQI) - Samuel Z. Stone Chair of Latin American Economics

Contact Info Nora Lustig is Samuel Z. Stone Professor of Latin American Economics and Director of the Commitment to Equity Institute (CEQ) at Tulane…  read more

Moira Mackinnon

Former CIPR Post-Doctoral Fellow (2010-2012)

Follow Moira’s Blogs Moira MacKinnon was a 2010-2012 post-doctoral research fellow. She completed her PhD in sociology at the University of California, San Diego in…  read more

Jump to page:






All Events

Upcoming Events

Latin American Graduate Oraganization (LAGO) 2018 Conference: Call for Proposals

View Full Event Description

The Latin American Graduate Organization will be hosting its 2018 Latin American Studies Conference titled Thinking of the Future: Expanding the possible in the Americas (Pensando en el porvenir: Expandiendo lo posible en las Américas) February 23 – 25, 2018, at Tulane University, in New Orleans, Louisiana.

This year, the conference topic is meant to challenge academics and activists to move beyond critiques and recommendations of how to address modern days issues, and instead articulate a vision of and for the future.

The LAGO Conference welcomes all disciplines and all approaches, as long as the project attempts to grapple with the idea of building something better. This is a Latin American Studies Conference, but creative writers, journalists, artists, performers, organizers, lawyers and healthcare providers as well as graduate students and other academics are welcome. Proposals are accepted in Spanish, Portuguese, Haitian Creole, and English.

Deadlines: Abstracts of papers and projects are due November 25, 2017. Abstracts of papers or project descriptions must not exceed 300 words.

Please contact with questions. For more information, visit the official conference website.